The Hummingbird

Friday’s are always good. It doesn’t really mark the end of my work week, but it’s Friday and who doesn’t like a Friday?  One thing I have always enjoyed doing is standing looking out the kitchen window.  Reflecting on the day ahead, sipping my first cup of morning coffee.  Such a refreshing feeling, looking out and taking on the new day. It is a treat to see God’s little creatures and today was such a day,  I was blessed to see my first Hummingbird of the season.  We’ve had snow this week and I bet he was just as happy as I was to see the little bit of sunshine gleaming through.  I love Hummingbirds.

Photo by Janrus

So as I was assessing my day ahead, watching my feathered friend flit around, gave me more to ponder. I have been reading a book this winter called “What The Walrus Knows” An Eccentric’s Field Guide to Working with Beastie Energies, by Sarah Seidelmann.  Sarah tells us “There’s a bigger, deeper world all around us all the time, full of messages and support.  We’re marinating in it.  It permeates and surrounds our ordinary reality…… Observing Beasties helps us tap into this deeper level of information.”  What was this little fellow telling me about my life and world around me.

Hummingbird Manifesto

Embody Boldness – Dive on desire with courage. Take Charge

Be Discerning – View from all angles.  Hover.  Carefully land on what feels best.

Vary the Source – Dig in. Taste.  Combine. Try it all.  Invent something new.

Return to The Heart – Revisit reliable sources. Trust.  Rest

Wow… the little Hummingbird brought me a wonderful message this morning.  That is what I am doing with my new blog.  Taking charge with courage and desire. Inventing something new, just for me, and if my readers get something from it during the process that is wonderful too.

I believe God created all of the creatures that surround us.  That he sends us messages in strange ways sometimes.  It maybe an Angel or one of Natures Beasties.  Thank you Lord for all that you provide us, in this beautiful world of wonder.

~Oregon Smiles …. with Franny On The Road Less Traveled

(A special thank you goes out to Sarah Seidelmann for granting me permission to use excerpts from her book.  Thank You Sarah!)

2 comments on “The Hummingbird

  1. Gorgeous picture…. I wish we had hummingbirds here. OH and I also believe that God speaks to us, not sometimes in strange ways, but in all ways. For God is all. hugs xxoo

Leave a Reply

