Hakuna Matata

It is so easy to worry about things that come along our way.  Life is so unpredictable that if we let it we could worry constantly about one thing or another.  Sometimes we even take on worry for someone else and that can cause more un-needed stress.

I have learned to ask myself,  “What good does it do to worry?”  Is it going to help something happen quicker or be better in the end.  No, there are so many variables and usually they are totally out of our control.  That is when I let go of the worry, I can relax and go about my day with things that are far more important.

Hakuna matata was a passing Swahili phrase that is literally translated as “There are no worries.” It is sometimes translated as “no worries”, although is more commonly used similarly to the American English phrase “no problem”. Timon and Pumbaa tell Simba in the Lion King movie , to move on from their troubled past and forgetting their worries.  To just live their lives in Hakuna Matata.

We can pray for god to help us, but unless we let go and Let God take over, we will continue the worry.  We need to turn our worries over to God. He tells us “Therefore do not worry and be anxious….that he knows what we need”  So we need to just cast our worries on him.

Make Hakuna Matata your life motto.  What will be, will be and there isn’t a darn thing we can do about it. So take a deep breath, cast your worries on the Lord and smile while he takes care of things.

~Oregon Smiles … with Franny, On The Road Less Traveled

Photography provided by Tracie Louise Photography

7 comments on “Hakuna Matata

    • Letting Go is a hard one, but once you Let Go and Let God take over…. wow, the possibilities are endless. Just look where I am today. I have you for my wonderful friend! ~Hugs

  1. Welcome to the blogging world! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. It’s much appreciated.

    I’m trying to take more of a “hakuna matata” approach to life but admittedly I’m terrible at it. A worrywart to the core and usually a wee bit paranoid about something. Haha. I’ve gotten a lot better though!

    • Thank you Kim. It was great having coffee with you this morning. Admitedly it took me until I was at 50 something to realize that I needed a Hakuna Matata life. Yes and I am with you, it still creeps in…. old habits I do believe. Have a great day my new friend. ~Franny

  2. Thank you for the Koala Franny I will save it, how beautiful is all of God’s Creation and all of His ways. He tells us not to worry but does not condemn us when we do, instead He reassures us that we don’t need to. When I first met my husband Ron 30 years ago, he use to say I would worry if I had nothing to worry about but now I know God works all things for good for those who Love Him …so why worry, worry! but if I start to I talk things over with Jesus my Best Friend and the friends He has given me.

    Thanks again Christian Love Anne.

  3. This is so true! I have been struggling with the possibility of having cancer for the second time. Instead of focusing on what I was going to do if I had uterine cancer I chose to be thankful for all that life had given me since I beat it last time: 2 beautiful daughters, a good career, my own home and the world’s best friend a just a few. God has been watching out for me. I am not rich or famous, but I have what I need. Hakuna Matata!

Leave a Reply

