Goodbye Yellow Brick Road

How many times growing up did you watch the Wizard of Oz?  I watched and worried as the wicked witch and her monkeys tried to destroy Dorothy and her companions.   They followed the Yellow Brick Road because the Munchkins told them if they did, they would find the Wizard and he would give them what they needed.  Have you ever thought what would have happened if they would have taken the Red Brick Road?

I watched that movie over and over, not understanding the real message of the movie… having the faith to believe in myself.  If I would have only believed in myself early on, I would have the confidence to take on the world.  I thought that it was just a dream, that it was only Dorothy that could click her heels together and magically she was home.  I didn’t understand when Glenda, the good witch, told Dorothy that “You’ve always had the power, my dear.  You’ve had it all along.”

Wow…. I had it all along. Like the song by the group, America, “Oz never did nothing to the Tinman that he didn’t already have.”  We’ve had it all along.  Many of us search and search for the answers, when all we needed to do was look within us. When we believe in ourselves,  it empowers us to do anything.

So back to my question…. What if we took the Red Brick Road?  Maybe if we would have taken the red brick road, we wouldn’t have just followed along with everyone else, but looked inside for the answer’s instead.  That brings me to the lyrics from Elton John…” Back to the howling old owl in the woods,  Hunting the horny back toad, Oh I’ve finally decided my future lies, Beyond the yellow brick road”

Goodbye Yellow Brick Road and thank you Mr. Wizard …

I have the power to believe in myself and take on the world.

~Oregon Smiles … with Franny, On The Road Less Traveled.

Photography provided by: Tracie Louise Photography

7 comments on “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road

  1. Pingback: munchkins and a good glass of wine « Divine Steps

  2. Pingback: Teen Writing Prompt 180 « TeenGirlsthatWrite

Leave a Reply

